First and foremost, we’re grateful to the people who shared their stories with us, and those who assisted us on our reporting journeys into Indigenous communities:

Reeva Billy, Mike Billy, Mike Jr. Billy, Cathrine Billy, Winonna Point, The Burrard boys, Edith Tobe, Dan Lewis, Shirley Lewis, Damara Jacobs-Morris, Ray Notraoro, Jim Skipp, Bob Baker, Steven Stark, Mandy Jones, Tom McCarthy, Tony Jacobs, Elder Ray Silver, Chief Dalton Silver, Jody Woods, Lester Ned, Neil Smith, Eddie Gardner, Shirley Hardman, Jeff Point, Ernie Crey, Chris Gadsden, Larry Commodore, Sheila Muxlow, Jennifer Archer, Julio and Vera Amaya, Shawn Shabaquay, Lee Brown, Alannah Young, Chief Justin George, Rueben George, Leonard George, Lynne Thomas, Evan Stewart, Ernie “Bones” George, Leah George-Wilson, Ben West, Andrew Van Eden, Glen Coulthard, Carleen Thomas, Bridget Doyle

We appreciate and acknowledge the financial support for this project provided by the UBC Student Teaching and Learning Enhancement Fund.

We also wish to honour the many people without whom the Reporting in Indigenous Communities course would not have been possible:

Our Guest Speakers
Glen Coulthard – Professor (Political Science) – University of British Columbia
Debra Martel – Associate Director – University of British Columbia First Nations House of Learning
Ernie Crey – Policy Advisor – Sto:lo Tribal Council
Jeff Bear – Urban Rez Productions
Carleen Thomas – Band Councillor – Tsleil-Waututh Nation
Andrew Van Eden – Special Projects – Tsleil-Waututh Nation
John Lehmann – Visual Journalist – Globe and Mail
Calyn Shaw – Senior Writer – CBC-TV News Network
Antonia Gonzales – Anchor – National Native News (USA)

Indigenous Communities
Squamish Nation
Sto:lo Nation
Sto:lo Tribal Council
Tsawwassen First Nation
Urban Vancouver

Additional thanks
Wayne Williams, Kathryn Gretsinger, Jodie Martinson, Yvonne Gall, Laura Palmer, and Rick Warren – CBC Vancouver.

Last but not least…

All of our friends, family and the Faculty and Staff at the UBC Graduate School of Journalism.

Comments are closed.